Mikkel Ploug Trio

Mikkel Ploug Trio

Wednesday, 24 April 2024, 8.00pm

Doors open 7:30pm / Music 8:00pm

The Cooler

"Mikkel Ploug is the latest sensation in the European jazz guitar scene with a personal voice and sound that sings."

Star Danish jazz guitarist Mikkel Ploug stops in Dublin for one night only with his world-renowned trio, featuring Irish drummer Sean Carpio.

Since the release of their debut album on Fresh Sound New Talent in 2006 Mikkel, Sean and Jeppe have toured all over the world performing in more than 25 countries including the US and Brazil. The trio is built on 18 years of experience interpreting Mikkel’s ever-evolving repertoire. With a strong Scandinavian heritage influence Mikkel's music is original, melody-driven and personal in harmonic character, yet approachable and inviting.

The trio has worked with of some of the jazz world’s greatest saxophonists including Americans Mark Turner and Loren Stillman. Mikkel has recorded 17 albums for renowned jazz-labels like Sunnyside Records (US), Fresh Sound (ES), Songlines (CA) and for Whirlwind Recordings (UK) and Mikkel's album “Faroe” was selected for the category “Best Instrumental Jazz Album” in the 2018 Grammy Awards. His album Balcony Lullabies won "Best Jazz Album Of 2020” by UK Newspaper Morningstar and received high praise in the Rolling Stone Magazine.

Mikkel has worked in varied settings such as a soloist with both the Royal Ballet and the Danish Radio Big Band in Denmark. He started on drums at the age of four but switched to the guitar in his teens. He graduated as Master of Jazz Guitar from the Royal Conservatory of The Hague, Holland with a distinction for his original composition.

Born in Arequipa, Peru and raised in Ireland, Seán Carpio is an award winning multi-instrumentalist whose diverse practice incorporates song, sound and improvisation. An in-demand drummer since 2005, he is featured on over thirty recordings to date, and has collaborated and shared the stage with diverse artists such as Louis Stewart, Mark Garry, Robert Stillman, Enda Walsh, Aoife Nessa Frances, Sam Amidon, Kit Downes, Henri Texier, Nina Hynes, Martin Hayes, Cian Nugent, Cillian Murphy, Eomac, Mark Turner, Sharon Phelan, Erik Friedlander, Ronan Guilfoyle and Ernst Reijseger.

WebsiteAdd a Listing

Published by Improvised Music Company on 30 January 2024

comments powered by Disqus

Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.