Ukrainian Freedom Orchestra

Ukrainian Freedom Orchestra

Monday, 15 August 2022, 7.30pm

Keri-Lynn Wilson, conductor 
Anna Federova, piano 
Liudmyla Monastyrska, soprano

Ukrainian National Anthem (string arrangement by Ukrainian composer Yuri Shevchenko)
Valentin Sylvestrov Symphony No. 7
Chopin Piano Concerto No. 2 
Beethoven Abscheulicher! Wo eilst du hin? from Fidelio
Dvořák Symphony No. 9

The Ukrainian Freedom Orchestra comes to the National Concert Hall for a historic concert - the only Ireland performance in their tour of Europe and the USA.

Assembled by New York’s Metropolitan Opera and the Polish National Opera, the orchestra will include recent refugees, Ukrainian members of European orchestras, and some of the top musicians of Kyiv, Lviv, Kharkiv, Odesa, and elsewhere in Ukraine. The Ukraine Ministry of Culture is granting a special exemption to military-age, male members of orchestras inside the country to participate, allowing them to put down weapons and take up their instruments in a remarkable demonstration of the power of art over adversity.

Under the leadership of Canadian-Ukrainian conductor Keri-Lynn Wilson, the orchestra will perform a program that includes Ukrainian composer Valentin Silvestrov’s Seventh Symphony; Chopin’s Piano Concerto No. 2, with Ukrainian virtuoso Anna Fedorova; and either Brahms’s Fourth Symphony or Dvořák’s Ninth Symphony. Leading Ukrainian soprano Liudmyla Monastyrska  will also perform Leonore’s great aria “Abscheulicher!” from Beethoven’s Fidelio, a paean to humanity and peace in the face of violence and cruelty.

Money raised from the tour will go to the ministry to support Ukrainian artists. 

Produced by 
The Metropolitan Opera
Teatre Wiekl – Polish National Opera 

Supported by the Department of Foreign Affairs and The Department of Tourism, Culture, Arts, Gaeltacht, Sport and Media.

Presented by NCH

WebsiteAdd a Listing
comments powered by Disqus

Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.