Debut Recital by Hard Rain SoloistEnsemble

Greg Caffrey

Debut Recital by Hard Rain SoloistEnsemble

Moving On Music will present the debut recital of The Hard Rain SoloistEnsemble on 21 September at The Mac in Belfast.

Founded by Belfast composer Greg Caffrey, who will act as Director, and including Aisling Agnew (flutes), Merve Kazokoglu (clarinets), Gascia Ouzounian (violin), David McCann (cello), and Ryan Molloy and Simon Mawhinney (piano), Hard Rain SoloistEnsemble describes itself as ‘the first group in Northern Ireland devoted to the performance of the contemporary and modern music repertoire’.

Their performance in September will feature the music of Japanese composer Toru Takemitsu (1930–96) alongside the work of Caffrey and Ian Wilson, also from Belfast. Both composers have been influenced by Takemitsu.

The concert is part of Moving On Music’s New Music for New Belfast project funded by Belfast City Council.

Watch below an extract from Takemitsu’s From Me Flows What You Call Time (1990), a work commissioned by Carnegie Hall to mark its 100th anniversary.

Published on 29 July 2013

comments powered by Disqus