New Releases (19 October 2022)

Ispíní na hÉireann (Photo: Patrick Glennon)

New Releases (19 October 2022)

The Journal of Music's regular round-up of recent albums and singles, including Bell X1 and Dowry Strings, Scullion, Pádraig Cooney, Moving Statues, This Throat, Topic Records, Rhiannon Giddens, Cliona Doris, NewDad, David Keenan, Ispíní na hÉireann, John Spillane, Gilla Band, and more.

This week’s edition includes music across pop, rock, folk, traditional, indie, electronic, contemporary and hip hop. To submit your music, email newreleases [at]

Bell X1 and Dowry Strings have just released ‘Light Catches Your Face’, which will feature on their upcoming album Live At St Luke’s, due for release on 25 November. The song originally featured on the Bell X1 album Blue Lights On The Runway and has been reimagined with a new arrangement by Éna Brennan from Dowry Strings. 

Scullion have also recently released a new album, Time Has Made a Change in Mefeaturing Crash Ensemble, Conor O’Brien (Villagers), and Gemma Doherty (Saint Sister). 

On 29 September, Dublin alt-pop musician Pádraig Cooney released his debut album Centuries of Learning via the Strange Brew label; Moving Statues, the electronic/noise-pop duo of Brian Kelly and Keith Wallace, have this month released their debut EP Wonders Will Never Cease on the Rusted Rail label; and pianist and singer Síle Ní Dhubhghaill, performing as This Throat, recently released her debut EP i sent it away to die, a five-track record of lo-fi ballads. 

Topic Records has just released two new albums, including Sea Song Sessions – a collection of British maritime folk songs and sea shanties by Jon Boden, Seth Lakeman, Ben Nicholls, Emily Portman and Jack Rutter; and The Sorrow Songs (Folk Songs Of Black British Experience) by Cornwall-based folk singer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Angeline Morrison. This is Morrison’s first album with Topic Records and was produced by Eliza Carthy.  

Ireland-based American folk musician Rhiannon Giddens has just published a picture book, Build a House, with Candlewick Press that was inspired by, and features the lyrics of, a song of the same name that Giddens recorded with Yo-Yo Ma. A newly recorded version of ‘Build a House’ with Ma and Francesco Turrisi is also out now on Nonesuch records.

Mosaics and Sketches is the new recording from harpist Cliona Doris and explores the Irish composer Brian Boydell’s chamber music for harp written from the 1960s to the 1980s.  

Also released over the past few weeks is ‘No Joke’, a new hip hop and afrobeat track from Chris Kabs featuring JyellowL; ‘Solas’ by Monaghan pianist Jamie Duffy; ‘ILY2’ by indie-pop band NewDad; Magnify, the new album from HamsandwicH; and ‘Ears are Pricked’, the latest single from Dundalk singer-songwriter David Keenan that will feature in upcoming album Crude, due for release in November. 

Le Solas Faoithine is the new album by Derry traditional singer and multi-instrumentalist Jack Warnock; and ‘Just Breathe’ is the debut single release from Meath singer-songwriter Siobhán McAleese. Folk band Ispíní na hÉireann have also shared a new single ‘Please Don’t Start the Fun’, with a video featuring the recent Cobblestone pub protests, ahead of the release of their debut album The Hard Working Men, due for release on 28 October.

Finally, John Spillane has just released a new record In Another Light; post-punk band Gilla Band have released Most Normal; and Invisible Resistances is the new recording of improvised works on piano and violin/viola by Izumi Kimura and Cora Venus Lunny. 

Listen to a playlist of all recent releases below. To submit your release, email newreleases [at]

Subscribe to our newsletter here.

Published on 18 October 2022

comments powered by Disqus