Lankum Lead the Way in RTE Folk Awards Nominations


Lankum Lead the Way in RTE Folk Awards Nominations

Andy Irvine to receive Lifetime Achievement Award.

Five months after winning two awards at the BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards, Lankum have received four nominations in the shortlist for the inaugural RTÉ Radio Folk 1 Awards, and Lankum singer Radie Peat has been nominated as Best Folk Singer.

Lankum appear twice in the Best Original Folk Track category, for ‘Déanta in Éireann’ and ’The Granite Graze’; then for ‘What Will We Do When We Have No Money?’ in Best Traditional Folk Track; and are also nominated for Best Folk Group. Radie Peat is nominated for Best Folk Singer along with Muireann Nic Amhlaoibh, Iarla Ó Lionáird, Declan O’Rourke and Lisa O’Neill.

Lifetime Achievement
Legendary folk singer Andy Irvine is to receive a Lifetime Achievement Award, and a Hall of Fame award will also be announced at the awards ceremony on 25 October at Vicar Street.

Ye Vagabonds receive three nominations, for Best Emerging Folk Artist, Best Folk Group and Best Traditional Folk Track for ‘Lowlands of Holland’.

The Gloaming are nominated twice, in Best Traditional Folk Track for ‘Cucanandy’ and Best Folk Group. Niall Hanna is also nominated twice, in Best Original Folk Track for ‘The Autumn Winds’ and for Best Emerging Folk Artist along with Emma Langford, Navá, David Keenan and Ye Vagabonds. Declan O’Rourke receives two nominations for Best Original Folk Track for ‘Along the Western Seaboard’ and Best Folk Singer.

The nominees for Best Folk Instrumentalists are Zoë Conway, Séamie O’Dowd, Cormac Begley, Martin Hayes, Colm Mac Con Iomaire and Liam O’Connor.

The awards ceremony will feature performances from Andy Irvine, Muireann Nic Amhlaoibh, Christy Moore, Daoirí Farrell, Lankum, Landless, Iarla Ó Lionáird, The Lost Brothers, Slow Moving Clouds and more. See the full list of nominees below. The awards are decided by a combination of RTÉ Radio 1 presenters, a folk awards steering group, a panel of 40 people involved in folk music, and a public vote for Album of the Year.

For more, visit

RTÉ Radio 1 Folk Awards Nominees

Best Original Folk Track
• The Autumn Winds – Niall Hanna
• Déanta in Éireann – Lankum
• Rosaleen – Mick Flannery
• Along the Western Seaboard – Declan O’Rourke
• The Granite Gaze – Lankum

Best Traditional Folk Track
• Cucanandy – The Gloaming
• Bean Dubh A’ Ghleanna – Muireann Nic Amhlaoibh
• What Will We Do When We Have No Money? – Lankum
• Lowlands of Holland – Ye Vagabonds
• The Bonny Light Horseman – Lúnasa and Natalie Merchant

Best Folk Singer
• Muireann Nic Amhlaoibh
• Iarla Ó Lionáird
• Radie Peat
• Declan O’Rourke
• Lisa O’Neill

Best Emerging Folk Artist
• Emma Langford
• Niall Hanna
• Navá
• David Keenan
• Ye Vagabonds

Best Folk Instrumentalist
• Zoë Conway
• Seamie O’Dowd
• Cormac Begley
• Martin Hayes
• Colm Mac Con Iomaire
• Liam O’Connor

Best Folk Group
• The Whileaways
• Beoga
• Ye Vagabonds
• The Lost Brothers
• Lankum
• The Gloaming

Lifetime Achievement Award
Andy Irvine

Hall of Fame
Announced on the night.

Best Folk Album
The public will be able to vote for Best Folk Album from 24 September at

Published on 20 September 2018

comments powered by Disqus