Irish Chamber Orchestra presents: Shostakovich, Frost & Glass

Irish Chamber Orchestra presents: Shostakovich, Frost & Glass

Wednesday, 7 September 2022, 7.30pm

Irish Chamber Orchestra
Katherine Hunka Director/Violin
Fiachra Garvey Piano
Colm Byrne  Trumpet

Shostakovich Concerto No. 1 in C minor for Piano, Trumpet and Strings, Op. 35
Paul Frost Trip
Philip Glass Symphony No. 3

Shostakovich’s Piano Concerto No. 1 is full of burlesque swagger and impish sardonic humour as the work unfolds into a climactic, carnival-atmosphere tumble. Fiachra Garvey performs this light-hearted infectious work, its inscrutable humour and seriousness enhanced by the trumpet performed by Colm ByrneSymphony No. 3 by Philip Glass is one of his most performed works.  The balance of tension and relaxation allows listeners to lose themselves in familiar patterns and rhythms, while enjoying the soundscape that Glass creates.  In between, we feature a world premiere of Trip a new commission by Paul Frost by his own daily thought processes and the wandering mind, generously supported by the Arts Council.

Wednesday 7 September | National Concert Hall, Dublin @7:30pm
Thursday 8 SeptemberSt. Patrick’s Church, Newport, Co. Mayo @ 7.30pm
Friday 9 September | University Concert Hall, Limerick @7:30pm

WebsiteAdd a Listing
comments powered by Disqus

Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.