Christmas Album from Oisín MacDiarmada and Séamus Begley

Séamus Begley

Christmas Album from Oisín MacDiarmada and Séamus Begley

A rapid follow-up to their first release together earlier this year, Oisín MacDiarmada and Séamus Begley of Téada have put out another album in time for the Christmas market. An Irish Christmas Soundscape complements their Irish Christmas in America show and album, and features, as the notes state ‘songs associated with Christmas in Ireland interspersed with tunes from composers such as Joe Burke, Fr. P.J. Kelly and Tim Collins. While the first album focussed on the intimate space of unaccompanied soundscape, this recording finds Séamus and Oisín in relaxed, rhythmic mood joined by Tim Edey and Jack Talty’ as well as Séamus’ daughter, Méabh for some vocals.

The track list is as follows:

1. Reels: Ben Hill (Fr P.J. Kelly) / The Morning Mist (Joe Burke)
2. Song: Coinnle an Linbh Íosa (written by Caoimhín Ó Cinnéide)
3. Jigs: The Girls of Banbridge / Biddy the Bold Wife
4. Song: Bí a Íosa im’ Chroíse
5. Slides: Túirne Mháire / The H Note (Tim Collins)
6. Song: Carnations (words by Brian O’Rourke)
7. Jigs: Upon St. Nicholas’ Boat / Statia Donnelly
8. Song: An Nollaig Theas (with additional words and music by Tim Dennehy)
9. Hornpipes: The Peacock’s Feather / The Fairies’ Hornpipe
10. Song: Gile mo Chroí
11. Polkas: The Danish Polka / Julia Clifford’s / Dan O’Leary’s Blue Ribbon Polka
12. Song: Oíche Chiúin

Published on 6 December 2012

Sign up for our daily or weekly newsletter to receive our latest news, UK newsreviews, articles, jobs and events.

To add a listing see here. For advertising visit this link.