Lankum Win Best Group and Best Original Song at BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards

Lankum and Finbar Furey at the BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards

Lankum Win Best Group and Best Original Song at BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards

Dónal Lunny presented with Lifetime Achievement Award.

Irish folk group Lankum has won two categories at the 19th BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards, which took place at Belfast’s Waterfront Hall last night (4 April). This was the first time the awards took place in Northern Ireland.

The band were nominated for three categories and won Best Group and Best Original Track (for ‘The Granite Gaze’). They also performed ‘What Will We Do When We Have No Money?’ at the awards.

Dónal Lunny was awarded a Lifetime Achievement Award, presented by Van Morrison. The Armagh Pipers Club won the Good Tradition Award category, presented by Tommy Sands.


Van Morrison and Dónal Lunny

For the full list of nominees and winners, see below. For more, visit

Folk Singer of the Year
Cara Dillon
Julie Fowlis
Siobhan Miller
Karine Polwart

Best Duo
Chris Stout & Catriona McKay
O’Hooley & Tidow
Ross Ainslie & Ali Hutton

Best Group
Elephant Sessions
Eliza Carthy & The Wayward Band
Sam Kelly & The Lost Boys

Horizon Award
Cohen Braithwaite-Kilcoyne
Georgia Lewis
Ryan Young

Musician of the Year
Martin Simpson
Mohsen Amini
Ross Ainslie
Tim Edey

BBC Radio 2 Young Folk Award
Jack Warnock 
Josiah & Ludwig
Mera Royle 
The Drystones

Best Album
Eliza Carthy & The Wayward Band – Big Machine
Karine Polwart with Pippa Murphy – A Pocket of Wind Resistance
Lankum – Between the Earth and Sky
The Young’uns – Strangers

Best Original Track
Be The Man – The Young’uns

Cân y cŵn – Gwyneth Glyn
The Granite Gaze – Lankum
The Great Saint Lawrence River – Declan O’Rourke

Best Traditional Track
Banks of Newfoundland – Siobhan Miller
Lisa Lân – Alaw
Lowlands of Holland – Ye Vagabonds
The Life of a Man / Greensleeves – Chris Foster

Good Tradition Award
Armagh Pipers Club 

Hall of Fame Inductee
Nick Drake

Lifetime Achievement Award
Dónal Lunny

Published on 5 April 2018

comments powered by Disqus