BBC Radio 2 Folk Award Winners Announced

Brìghde Chaimbeul, winner of the Horizon award (Photo: Andy Catlin)

BBC Radio 2 Folk Award Winners Announced

Seckou Keita, Brìghde Chaimbeul, Ríoghnach Connolly and Ye Vagabonds among winners.

The winners of the 20th BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards were announced last night at an event at the Bridgewater Hall in Manchester.

The Trials of Cato won Best Album for Hide and Hair and Ye Vagabonds won Best Traditional Track for ‘The Foggy Dew’. Karine Polwart and Steven Polwart won Best Original Track for ‘I Burn But I Am Not Consumed’ from the album Laws of Motion.

Senegalese kora player and drummer Seckou Keita won Musician of the Year and Scottish piper Brìghde Chaimbeul won the Horizons Best Emerging Act award. Keita also won Best Duo with Welsh harper Catrin Finch.

Maddie Morris was presented with the BBC Radio 2 Young Folk Award, which is an educational talent contest open to musicians from the UK aged 16 to 21.

Ríoghnach Connolly from Armagh won Folk Singer of the Year and Dervish and English folk and blues singer and guitarist Wizz Jones were given Lifetime Achievement Awards.

Leonard Cohen was inducted into Radio 2 Folk Awards Hall of Fame, joining artists such as Nick Drake, Sandy Denny, Woody Guthrie, Ewan MacColl and Cecil Sharp.

Listen back to the awards here. For the full list of winners and nominees, see below. The RTÉ Radio 1 Folk Awards take place next Thursday 24 October in Dublin. 

BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards Winners and Nominees 2019

Folk Singer of the Year
Ríoghnach Connolly (Winner)
Gwilym Bowen Rhys
Lisa O’Neill
Olivia Chaney

Best Duo/Group
Catrin Finch & Seckou Keita (Winner)
Stick in the Wheel
The Breath
The Rheingans Sisters

Horizon Award
Brìghde Chaimbeul (Winner)
Kinnaris Quintet
Kitty Macfarlane
The Trials Of Cato

Best Traditional Track
The Foggy Dew by Ye Vagabonds (Winner)
Factory Girl by Lisa O’Neill ft. Radie Peat
Ffoles Llantrisant by VRï
The Reedcutter’s Daughter by Jimmy Aldridge & Sid Goldsmith

Best Original Track
I Burn But I Am Not Consumed by Karine Polwart (written by Karine and Steven Polwart) (Winner)
Blackbird by Lisa O’Neill
O-U-T Spells Out by Kathryn Tickell & The Darkening
Scapa Flow 1919 by Kris Drever

Best Album
Hide and Hair by The Trials Of Cato (Winner)
Ancora by Flook
Heard a Long Gone Song by Lisa O’Neill
Soar by Catrin Finch & Seckou Keita

Musician of the Year
Seckou Keita (Winner)
Jenn Butterworth
Mohsen Amini
Sam Sweeney

BBC Radio 2 Young Folk Award
Maddie Morris

Lifetime Achievement Awards
Wizz Jones

Radio 2 Folk Awards Hall of Fame
Leonard Cohen


Published on 17 October 2019

comments powered by Disqus