The Navarra Quartet - Music by Mozart, Maconchy, Tchaikovsky

The Navarra Quartet - Music by Mozart, Maconchy, Tchaikovsky

Friday, 24 November 2023, 8.00pm

Friday 24th November 8 pm
The Parade Tower, Kilkenny Castle
The Navarra Quartet
Benjamin Marquise Gilmore - violin
Bartosz Woroch- violin
Sasha Bota - viola
Brian O’Kane - cello

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart - String Quartet No. 15 in D minor K421
Elizabeth Maconchy - String Quartet No. 3
Pyotr Illyich Tchaikovsky - String Quartet No. 3 in Eb minor Op. 30

Elizabeth Maconchy was born in England in 1907 to Irish parents and was a prolific and successful composer through much of the twentieth century. The third of her thirteen quartets is among the most popular and was written with Europe on the cusp of yet another war; it is dramatic, yearning and very much according to her feeling that ‘the best music is an impassioned argument’. Brian O’Kane’s celebrated Navarra Quartet opens with Mozart’s D minor quartet and ends with Tchaikovsky’s towering third quartet, perhaps most memorable for its slow movement which alternates between a doom-laden funeral march and the radiant beauty of remembrance. Taking its name from a bottle of red from the wine region famously known for its multicoloured landscapes, the Quartet’s diverse cultural backgrounds are united in serving the music with relentless passion and commitment.

A National String Quartet Foundation Tour
Courtesy of OPW

WebsiteAdd a Listing

Published by The Journal of Music on 23 August 2023

comments powered by Disqus

Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.