American & Canadian Sounds – Concert 1

American & Canadian Sounds – Concert 1

Sunday, 5 February 2023, 6.00pm

Jean-Philippe Sylvestre – Piano
Stéphane Tétrault – cello
Airat Ichmouratov – clarinet

Airat Ichmouratov – Praeludium for cello solo Op.69 (UK premiere)
Sergei Rachmaninov – Prélude et Danse Orientale, Op.2
Johannes Brahms – Clarinet Trio in A minor, Op.114
Gabriel Fauré – Elegie for Cello and Piano in C minor, Op.24
Gabriel Fauré – Piano Trio in D minor, Op.120

The first concert of a mini series focusing on music and musicians from Canada and north America, features three remarkable Canadian musicians – the composer and clarinettist Airat Ichmouratov, pianist Jean-Philippe Sylvestre, and cellist Stéphane Tétrault. Their concert opens with the UK premiere of Airat Ichmouratov's evocative Praeludium, bringing Stéphane’s Stradivarius cello to centre stage. Two colourful cello and piano pieces by Rachmaninov follow, before Airat joins the musicians for Fauré’s beautiful piano trio in its original version with clarinet. Their programme closes with the ever-popular trio for clarinet, cello and piano by Brahms, preludised with Fauré’s haunting Elegie.

This concert is supported by the High Commission of Canada and the Québec Government Office in London.

Presented by the London Chamber Music Society

WebsiteAdd a Listing
comments powered by Disqus

Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.