Cork Orchestral Society usher in Winds of Change

Cork Orchestral Society usher in Winds of Change

Saturday, 15 May 2021, 6.30pm

Passing the halfway point in its 2021 Online Concert Series, Cork Orchestral Society welcomes a performance from woodwind quintet, Winds of Changes, in May at the Curtis Auditorium, Cork.

Winds of Change will be joined for the live-streamed concert by acclaimed pianist Ellen Jansson, hosted on the Society’s website on Saturday May 15. It will be the fourth live performance in the series of six, following concerts from 13 Strings, Brendan Garde and Finghin Collins.

The Cork-based ensemble, Winds of Change, was formed in 2018 and had its inaugural concert in the MTU Cork School of Music as part of that year’s Cork Orchestral Society concert series. The members of the quintet have played together in several orchestras and ensembles over the years, and developed the quintet following performances together as part of the Cork Opera House Concert Orchestra.

Winds of Change seeks to promote the performance of wind chamber music with pieces old and new, both popular and less well known by favourite composers and by those whose music has become somewhat neglected over time. The concert on May 15 will feature works by Francis Poulenc and Ludwig Thuille.

Collectively educated at MTU CSM, Royal Irish Academy of Music, DIT Conservatory of Music and Drama, Royal Academy of Music London, Guildhall School of Music and Drama, University of Colorado, and Julliard School, New York the members of Winds of Change enjoy extensive and busy freelance performing careers as orchestral players, chamber music performers and soloists.

This international array of orchestras and chamber ensembles includes the Orchestra of the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, Colorado Symphony, St Endellion Music Festival and the Kuopion Symphony Orchestra, Finland while in Ireland they regularly work with the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra, RTÉ Concert Orchestra, Irish Chamber Orchestra, Ulster Orchestra and many more.

The concert will be available to view from 6.30pm on Saturday May 15 on and will remain online thereafter. The concert is also free to view for the public.

Winds of Change are:
Kieran Moynihan - flute

Ciara Glasheen-Artem - oboe

Conor Sheil - clarinet

Sinéad Frost - bassoon

Hannah Miller - horn

Ellen Jansson - piano

comments powered by Disqus

To receive our latest articles, news, reviews and jobs, subscribe to our newsletters

Add your concert to our listings here.

For information on advertising with the Journal of Music visit this link


Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.