Lunchtime with ConTempo: "A Letter to Jane"

Lunchtime with ConTempo: "A Letter to Jane"

Tuesday, 7 February 2023, 1.10pm

Galway Music Residency’s Lunchtimes with ConTempo returns in 2023 with a special programme on Tuesday 7th February at 1:10pm in Saint Nicholas' Collegiate Church.

Inspired by celebrations for Saint Brigid, Ireland's only female patron saint, Galway Music Residency celebrates a very special woman to the organisation: composer Jane O'Leary. Saint Brigid's Day marks the beginning of the Celtic season of Imbolc, or Spring, which symbolises the end of the darkness of winter and the beginning of new light of growth.

ConTempo Quartet performs Jane O’Leary’s string quartet The passing sound of forever… (2015) and ConTempo ConVersations (2005) as well as the first movement of Ludwig Beethoven’s String Quartet No. 11, “Serioso” (1810) and the first movement of Leoš Janáček’ String Quartet No. 2, "Intimate Letters"(1928).

The programme traces a 20-year friendship between ConTempo Quartet, Jane O’Leary and Galway Music Residency. The two works featured by O’Leary were composed especially for ConTempo. O’Leary’s string quartet The passing sound of forever… is inspired by the first movement of Beethoven’s “Serioso” string quartet. ConTempo performed Janáček’s "Intimate Letters” as part of their first performances as Galway’s Ensemble-in-Residence in 2003. The memory of that performance has stayed with O’Leary for 20 years.

The immense contribution Jane O'Leary has made on Galway Music Residency has been felt since she co-founded the organisation 20 years ago. Her vision and leadership as a member of the Board and Artistic Committee has helped steer the organisation. At the end of 2022, Jane stepped down from the Board and this 'Letter to Jane' is a heartfelt thank you from all at Galway Music Residency for her tireless work.

Entry to this concert is Free, all are welcome. Donations are gratefully accepted. Booking is recommended.

ConTempo Quartet:

ConTempo Quartet is the resident ensemble of Galway Music Residency and was RTE’s Resident Quartet from 2014 until 2019. Praised as a “fabulous foursome” (Irish Independent) and noted for performances which are “exceptional” (The Strad) and “full of

imaginative daring” (The Irish Times), ConTempo Quartet has forged a unique place in Irish musical life.

WebsiteAdd a Listing

Published by Galway Music Residency on 2 February 2023

comments powered by Disqus

Please note that some listings are added by third parties. The Journal of Music does not take responsibility for the content or accuracy of listings published by third parties on this site. The Journal of Music reserves the right to edit or delete listings. Click here to add a listing, login or register.